Finding My Path.

I graduated with two degrees, B.S. in Psychology and B.S. in Gerontology, from Missouri State University this last May. I have spent the last 17 years of my life in an education setting and I still have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. I have never had such an ambiguous future a head of me.

Up until now I always had my life planned in the 5th grade I knew the next three years would be spent in middle school. In the 8th grade I knew I had four years to spend in high school, no worries. Senior year of high school, I’m going to college! But now! I don’t have the next few years planned out and I am anxious, excited, scared, nervous, and many more poignant feelings!!

Heck! I have taken the Meyer Briggs Personality Inventory just to get a better understanding of where I should go next. I am an ENFJ (I’m Dumbledore according to cool picture I have attached).  You know what this only told me that I was on the write track, it didn’t give me an answer of what I should be!! It said I would make a good counselor, psychologist, librarian, and english teacher.  Thanks! I have already thought long and hard about these careers!!

So now, I am taking a leap of faith, I am following my passion: helping people. I am applying for a job at the Springfield Greene County Library Center for a Youth Services Associate position. I hope to get this job. If I get this job maybe then I will know if becoming a librarian is for me. Until I know I am applying for graduate school to several different programs: library sciences, counseling, and clinical psychology. I am trying to find my path. I suppose I am actually trying to choose my path. I am actually becoming more active in my future now more than I ever have before.

Either way, wish me luck!!

Image

Leave a Reply

