NaBloPoMo: Day 4

Who is your favorite character of all time?

This is an extremely difficult decision for me to make. I first started thinking about this question in the context of book character but then I realized that the question also included television and movie questions. There are just so many characters that I love Hermione Granger, Anne Shirley, Ron Swanson, Leslie Knope, Shawn Spence, and so many more! How does one choose their all time favorite character?

Do I choose based on if I could spend the rest of my life with them? Do I do the deserted island test? Or do I base it off of complexity? There are many ways for me to go about choosing my favorite character but I went with whom I learned the most about life from. For that reason I choose Winnie the Pooh. Here are some of the life lessons I learned from Winnie:

1)    Cherish your friends

“If you live to be 100, I hope I live to be 100 minus one day, so I never have to live without you.”

2)    Live in the moment.

“‘What is today?’

‘It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.

‘My favorite day,’ said Pooh.”

3)    If you want something, go and get it.

“You can’t always sit in your corner of the forest and wait for people…you have to go to them sometimes.”

4)    Using long words is overrated.

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long difficult words but rather short, easy words like, ‘What about lunch?’”

5)    We don’t have to be in a hurry.

“Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there someday.”

6)    You can’t explain love.

“Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”

Pooh may be story intended for children but we can all learn from him and his friends. These are just a few things that I have learned from the beloved Winnie the Pooh.

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Day 4

Leave a Reply

